Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar
5th Grade Social Studies Websites

 
Mission US:  A Revolutionary Way to Learn History:  http://www.mission-us.org/
 
Economics
 
 
Geography
http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/web_games.htm : This is the direct link to the states and regions activities we played in class.
 
Native Americans
 
Native Languages of the Americas
Welcome to Native Languages of the Americas! We are a non-profit organization working to preserve and promote American Indian languages. This "Facts For Kids" section was designed to provide simple online information about American Indians in an easy-to-read question and answer format. We encourage students, especially older kids, to look through our main information on American Indian tribes to get the best feel for the cultures they are studying.
http://www.native-languages.org/kids.htm
Native American Resource for Kids:  http://www.kiddyhouse.com/Thanksgiving/Native.html
 
Government
The Democracy Project - http://pbskids.org/youchoose
Ben's Guide to US Government for Kids - Teaches kids from kindergarten through 12th grade about the federal government, from the US Government Printing Office.

 Harcourt Travel Center  - Activities and Games that go along with the Social Studies book by units. Great sites and activities  http://www.harcourtschool.com/ss1/index_na.html 

Kentucky  - This website pertains to Kentucky history and government as well as tourism.  http://www.ky.gov 

The White House  - Information about Past and Present Presidents and interesting facts about the White House in Washington, D.C.

Constitution Day  - Constitution Day/ American History resources  http://www.constitutionday.cc 

iCivics - http://www.icivics.org/
 

BrainPop Three Branches of Government - http://www.brainpop.com/socialstudies/usgovernment/branchesofgovernment/

Colonies

On the Trail of Captain John Smith - http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/games/adventure/on-the-trail-of-captain-john-smith-old/

American History of the Original 13 Colonies: http://www.landofthebrave.info/american-history-of-13-colonies.htm 

13 Colonies Maphttp://www.softschools.com/social_studies/13_colonies_map/

13 Colonies Map Quiz Game:  http://online.seterra.com/en/vgp/3044

Jamestown Adventure http://www.historyglobe.com/jamestown/

Colonial House - Interactive Website http://www.pbs.org/wnet/colonialhouse/history/index.html

Lewis and Clark Expedition http://www.nationalgeographic.com/features/97/west/

U.S. Mission (Revolutionary War)  http://www.mission-us.org/

The Underground Railroad - http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/bhistory/underground_railroad/index.htm

 

American Revolution

Vocabulary 1: http://mrparsons5thgradesocialstudies.weebly.com/uploads/4/8/5/7/48577473/vocabulary_1.swf

Colonial Taxation:http://mrparsons5thgradesocialstudies.weebly.com/uploads/4/8/5/7/48577473/colonial_taxation.swf

Important Battles:http://mrparsons5thgradesocialstudies.weebly.com/uploads/4/8/5/7/48577473/important_battles.swf

Important Women of the Revolution:http://mrparsons5thgradesocialstudies.weebly.com/uploads/4/8/5/7/48577473/important_women_of_the_revolution.swf

Important People:http://mrparsons5thgradesocialstudies.weebly.com/uploads/4/8/5/7/48577473/important_people_2.swf

American Revolution Speed Match:http://www.superteachertools.us/speedmatch/speedmatch.php?gamefile=12486#.WjAKG7pFzIV

 

Westward Expansion

Westward Crossword:  http://www.ducksters.com/games/crossword_puzzle/westward_expansion.php

 

Civil War

Quia Civil War and Reconstruction:  http://www.quia.com/rr/39724.html

Quia Civil War Timeline:  http://www.quia.com/pp/16684.html

Civil War Challenge and Discovery:  http://mrnussbaum.com/cwchallenge/

5th Grade Social Studies Review:  http://www.harcourtschool.com/ss1/adventure_activities/interactives/gr5_unit6.html

 

Communities

Mister Rogers' Neighborhood -  http://pbskids.org/rogers/buildBuild.html