Assembly Cafe



The Assembly building was built in 1892. It consists of a beautiful Italian-Queen architectural style. Its unique corner entrance, makes it even more extraordinary. It has approximately 3,300 ft. squared. It is located on the corner of Main and West Shelby streets. The address of this building is 100 West Shelby St.

 This two story building was originally owned by Gus Schubert. Next there was a family residence and an Assembly Hall. In the corner entrance, there once was a pool hall.  Also, a saloon occupied a portion of the building that was later turned into a speakeasy.

Later on, in 1922, the building was sold to Sol Goldberg. He used it for numerous social events. A few of these events were recitals, operas, and high school graduations.  During this time, George Bradford opened the “First National Bank” on the main floor.

By: Emily B., Gracee H., Hannah T., and Lillian C.